Annual Programme Schloss Biesdorf 2022 ( Stand February 20, 2022)

GUSTAVO – gracias, BERLIN!
November 28, 2021 to March 4, 2022 (exhibition on the upper floor)

Schloss Biesdorf is showing a retrospective of the Spanish painter Gustavo. The characteristic feature of his paintings are the colourful whimsical figures that he captures on canvas in absurd and comical situations.

 

Sophie Kirchner – Paper Dreams
November 28, 2021 to 04.03.2022 (exhibition on the ground floor)

30 years after the fall of the Berlin Wall, photographer Sophie Kirchner, born in 1984 in East Berlin, asked East Germans to show her what they had bought with their welcome money. The exhibition shows photographs of the purchased objects and portraits of their owners.

 

Habitats
March 13, 2022 to June 6, 2022

How do plants, animals, fungi or humans change their ways of life to ensure life or survival in the face of dramatic environmental changes? The artistic positions in this exhibition explore this question. Works by: Helga Franz, Andreas Greiner, Constantino Ciervo, Christine Schulz, Lioba von den Driesch, Stefan Fahrnländer, Susanne Hegemann, Thomas Wrede.

 

V E R G O L D E T | D O R É | G I L D E D
(Exhibition together with the Château de Nyon, Switzerland)
June 13, 2022 to August 21, 2022

VERGOLDET examines the handling of the (colour) material gold, its fusions and reinterpretations and looks with artistic positions at and behind the gilded surfaces and objects, which are no longer necessarily about the representation of eternity and wealth. Or is this magical relationship today merely deformed into other symbols and signs of recognition? Works by: Antje Blumenstein, Olivia Breckemeyer, Ruth Campau, Andreas Gursky, Claudia Kugler, Eckart Hahn, Andréas Lang, Myriam Mechita, Michael Müller, Philippe Parreno, David Povell, Fabian Rockenfeller, Pamela Rosenkranz, Stephanie Saadé, Michael Sailsdorfer, Karin Sander, Henrik Strömberg, Philip Topolovac, Panis Tsagaris, Andrea Winkler, Clemens Wolf. Curated by Harald Theiss

 

Toni Mau (1917-1981) – Graphics from the Museum Utopia and Everyday Life
June 13 to August 21, 2022 (exhibition on the ground floor)

The Museum Utopia and Everyday Life combines the Documentation Centre for Everyday Culture of the GDR in Eisenhüttenstadt and the Beeskow Art Archive – institutions supported by the Oder-Spree district and funded by the state of Brandenburg.

 

Jürgen Wittdorf (1932-2018)
September 4, 2022 to January 31, 2023

Wittdorf was a master of the creative nuances. In addition to his masterly woodcuts, he is also known for numerous book illustrations as well as for his expressive portraits and nude drawings. His breakthrough as an artist in the GDR came with his depictions of young people, who were not idealised as workers and peasants but portrayed as seekers with all their wishes and longings. What earned Wittdorf the reproach of "westernisation" from the authorities was enthusiastically celebrated by the youth. Schloss Biesdorf pays tribute to Jürgen Wittdorf in a comprehensive presentation. Wittdorf's works are juxtaposed with contemporary positions.

Works by: Jürgen Wittdorf, Norbert Bisky, Veneta Androva, Bettina Semmer and Harry Hachmeister

Jahresprogramm Schloss Biesdorf 2022 (Stand 20.02.2022)

GUSTAVO – gracias, BERLIN!
28.11.2021 bis 04.03.2022 (Ausstellung im OG)

Das Schloss Biesdorf zeigt eine Retrospektive des spanischen Malers Gustavo. Charakteristisches Merkmal seiner Malerei sind die farbenprächtigen skurrilen Gestalten, die er in absurden und komischen Situationen auf die Leinwand bannt.

 

Sophie Kirchner – Träume aus Papier
28.11.2021 bis 04.03.2022 (Ausstellung im EG)

30 Jahre nach der Wende hat die Fotografin Sophie Kirchner, geboren 1984 in Ost-Berlin, Ostdeutsche gebeten, ihr zu zeigen, was sie sich von ihrem Begrüßungsgeld gekauft haben. Die Ausstellung zeigt Fotografien der gekauften Gegenstände und Porträts ihrer Eigentümer.

 

Habitate
13.03.2022 bis 06.06.2022

Wie verändern Pflanzen, Tiere, Pilze oder Menschen ihre Lebensweisen, um angesichts dramatischer Umweltveränderungen ein Leben bzw. Überleben zu sichern? Die künstlerischen Positionen dieser Ausstellung gehen dieser Frage nach. Arbeiten von: Helga Franz, Andreas Greiner, Constantino Ciervo, Christine Schulz, Lioba von den Driesch, Stefan Fahrnländer, Susanne Hegemann, Thomas Wrede

 

D O R É | G I L D E T | V E R G O L D E T
(Ausstellung gemeinsam mit dem Château de Nyon, Schweiz)
13.06.2022 bis 21.08.2022

VERGOLDET untersucht den Umgang mit dem (Farb)Werkstoff Gold, seine Verschmelzungen und Umdeutungen und schaut mit künstlerischen Positionen auf und hinter die vergoldeten Flächen und Gegenstände, bei denen es nicht mehr unbedingt um Repräsentanz von Ewigkeit und Reichtum geht. Oder ist diese magische Verhältnis heute nur zu anderen Sinnbilder und Erkennungszeichen verformt? Arbeiten von: Antje Blumenstein, Olivia Breckemeyer, Ruth Campau, Andreas Gursky, Claudia Kugler, Eckart Hahn, Andréas Lang, Myriam Mechita, Michael Müller, Philippe Parreno, David Povell, Fabian Rockenfeller, Pamela Rosenkranz, Stephanie Saadé, Michael Sailsdorfer, Karin Sander, Henrik Strömberg, Philip Topolovac, Panis Tsagaris, Andrea Winkler, Clemens Wolf. Kuratiert von Harald Theiss

 

Toni Mau (1917-1981) – Grafik aus dem Museum Utopie und Alltag
13.06.2022 bis 21.08.2022  (Ausstellung im Erdgeschoss)

Das Museum Utopie und Alltag vereint das Dokumentationszentrum Alltagskultur der DDR in Eisenhüttenstadt und das Kunstarchiv Beeskow – Einrichtungen getragen vom Landkreis Oder-Spree und gefördert vom Land Brandenburg.

 

Jürgen Wittdorf (1932-2018)
04.09.2022 bis 31.01.2023

Wittdorf war ein Meister der gestalterischen Zwischentöne. Bekannt ist er, neben seinen meisterlichen Holzschnitten, auch für zahlreiche Buchillustrationen sowie für seine ausdrucksstarken Portraits und Aktzeichnungen. Seinen Durchbruch als Künstler in der DDR erlangte er mit der Darstellung junger Menschen, die nicht als Arbeiter und Bauern idealisiert, sondern als Suchende mit all ihren Wünschen und Sehnsüchten dargestellt wurden. Was Wittdorf von der Obrigkeit den Vorwurf der „Verwestlichung“ einbrachte, wurde von der Jugend begeistert gefeiert. Das Schloss Biesdorf würdigt Jürgen Wittdorf in einer umfassenden Präsentation. Den Arbeiten Wittdorfs werden in der Ausstellung zeitgenössische Positionen gegenübergestellt.

Arbeiten von: Jürgen Wittdorf, Norbert Bisky, Veneta Androva, Bettina Semmer und Harry Hachmeister